Poetry about poetry

A reflection towards my recent encounters of sharing of people’s artistic expressions.

pexels-photo-210642

You say I don’t understand poetry like you do,
I haven’t known even half of what you know
when you haven’t read even a single work of mine

You put me down because my expression is different from yours
and the language I use uncomfortable for you
but let me tell you something about poetry that I do know for sure

It doesn’t have to mean something as long as it is felt
It doesn’t need to rhyme a line as long as it is read
It can be an abstract piece creating a “farrago of distortions”
but all it needs to do is
give the poet a freedom for expression

It doesn’t need to start a rebellion
nor make your heart ache
it doesn’t need to be praised
nor does it need to be criticized

All it needs to do is
give the poet some peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

